Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Institute of Internal Auditors North AmericaBreadcrumb SeparatorAbout UsBreadcrumb SeparatorAmerican Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners Call for Nominations

American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners 

American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners

The IIA’s American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners (“Hall”) was established in 2011 to recognize key individuals in the field of internal auditing who have contributed significantly to the profession throughout their lifetime. It is the highest honor given by the North American Board for the contributions and accomplishments that the recipient has made to advance the profession, setting the standard for others to emulate.

There is no obligation to bestow the award in any year. With the intent to recognize truly distinguished service by IIA members in the United States, no more than three practitioners will be recognized for this award.

2022 Call for Nominations Is Open through November 19, 2021

Download the nomination form and submit to  by Nov. 19, 2021.

Nomination Form

Eligibility Criteria

Eligible candidates for induction into the Hall should meet the following criteria:

  1. Served as a leader in the internal audit profession within the United States (audit professional, professor, instructor, or in other service to the profession of internal auditing) for a minimum of ten years.
  2. Provided diligent service to their employing organization(s), as evidenced by the support afforded to them by their peers, supervisors, and staff
  3. Advanced the profession through thought leadership, presenting on internal audit at conferences or seminars, or service to The Institute of Internal Auditors in a leadership role.
  4. Simplified the finest values of those who practice internal audit through their highly ethical conduct, integrity, moral character, service and leadership.


Inductees into the Hall will be honored at the General Audit Management (GAM) Conference or other activity, as determined by the North American Board. Each recipient will receive an appropriate acknowledgement to publicly recognize their induction into the Hall.

2021 Recipients: Angelina K.Y. Chin, Michael J. Fucilli, Sandra L Pundmann, Shannon J. Urban

2020 Recipients: Andrew Dahle, Mark Salamasick, John Wszelaki

Complete list of award recipients