Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Institute of Internal Auditors North AmericaBreadcrumb SeparatorCertificationBreadcrumb SeparatorCCSA CertificationBreadcrumb SeparatorEligibility Requirements

Certification in Control Self-Assessment® (CCSA®) Eligibility Requirements

Please note: As of Dec. 31 2018, we are no longer accepting applications for new CCSA, CFSA, and CGAP certifications.

Candidates in the CCSA program agree to accept the conditions of the program, including eligibility requirements, exam confidentiality, Code of Ethics, and Continuing Professional Education (CPE), along with other conditions enacted by The IIA's Professional Certification Board (PCB).


CCSA candidates must meet the following eligibility requirements for education, character, work experience, and identification. Before a candidate application can be approved, ALL documentation (proof of education, character reference, and identification) must be received and approved by The IIA’s Certification staff.


Candidates must hold an Associate's degree or higher to be approved into one of The IIA’s certification programs. Common equivalents are a Foundation Degree, Diploma of Higher Education, or Higher National Diploma.

Acceptable Documents:

  • Copy of your degree or official transcripts (if your name has changed since you earned your degree, you must also include your legal name change document)
  • Letter from university confirming degree
  • Letter from evaluation services confirming degree level

The IIA offers an alternate path to eligibility for candidates who do not possess the minimum education requirements. Candidates may now become eligible for the CCSA, subject to approval, who possess seven years verified experience in internal audit or its equivalent.

Character Reference

CCSA candidates must exhibit high moral and professional character and must submit a Character Reference signed by a CIA, CGAP, CCSA, CFSA, CRMA, or the candidate's supervisor.

Work Experience

Experience for the IIA’s certification programs is based on the maximum level of education achieved. CCSA candidates must obtain one year of control-related business experience. The work experience requirements for the CCSA program are:

​Education Level ​Years of Work Experience Required
​Master’s Degree (or equivalent) ​12 months - CSA, auditing, quality assurance, risk management, or environmental auditing
​Bachelor’s Degree (or equivalent) ​12 months - CSA, auditing, quality assurance, risk management, or environmental auditing
​Associate’s Degree, A-Level Certificate (or equivalent) ​60 months - CSA, auditing, quality assurance, risk management, or environmental auditing

Candidates may apply to the program and sit for the exam prior to satisfying the professional experience requirement, but will not be certified until all program requirements have been met.

Facilitation Experience/Training

CCSA candidates must obtain at least seven hours of acceptable facilitation experience or at least 14 hours of acceptable facilitation training. To be considered acceptable, facilitation experience or training must meet the guidelines listed on the facilitation validation form. Validation of facilitation experience/training may accompany application or be submitted later. The faciliation validation can be completed within the CCMS directly. Please do not fill out the form.

CCSA Facilitation Validation Form

Proof of Identification

Candidates must provide proof of identification in the form of a copy of the candidate’s official passport or national identity card. These must indicate current status; expired documents will not be accepted.

Eligibility Period

Candidates approved into the program prior to August 13, 2018 must complete the certification program within their four-year eligibility window. Candidates approved after August 13, 2018 must complete the certification program by December 31, 2020. If a candidate has not completed the certification process by the aforementioned date, all fees will be forfeited.

All candidates are encouraged to complete the certification program by December 31, 2018 to be eligible for the CIA Challenge Exam.


The CCSA certification exam is a non-disclosed examination. Candidates in the program agree to keep the contents of the CCSA exam confidential and therefore may not discuss the specific exam content with anyone except The IIA's Certification Department. Unauthorized disclosure of exam material will be considered a breach of the Code of Ethics and could result in disqualification of the candidate or other appropriate censure.

Code of Ethics

CCSA candidates agree to abide by the Code of Ethics established by The IIA.

Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

Upon certification, CCSAs are required to maintain their knowledge and skills and stay abreast of improvements and current developments by satisfying CPE requirements.

IIA Membership

In most cases, you do not have to be a member of The IIA to take the CCSA exam or become a CCSA but we encourage you to consider its advantages. There are some countries, however, that do require candidates to be IIA members to take the CCSA exam. Candidates in any of the countries listed on the map located at the top right of this page should contact their local institute to verify this requirement.

IIA members receive discounts on CCSA review materials and courses and have access to the latest exam preparation resources, networking opportunities, and current CCSA news and information.

Access CCMS

Candidates from the following countries must refer to their local IIA Institute web-site or contact their local representative for more information about local certification processes:

The information contained on this website pertains to all other countries.