Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Institute of Internal Auditors North AmericaBreadcrumb SeparatorNewsBreadcrumb SeparatorPress ReleasesBreadcrumb SeparatorGlobal Association Honors Internal Audit Profession’s 2011 Highest Achievers

Global Association Honors Internal Audit Profession’s 2011 Highest Achievers 

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia – Each year, The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) recognizes select professionals around the world for their significant contributions to the internal audit profession. The 2011 awards were presented at The IIA's International Conference in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, July 10-13.

Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award

Created in memory of The IIA’s first managing director, this award recognizes outstanding accomplishments that contribute to the advancement of the global internal audit profession. The 2011 award recipient is Richard (Dick) Anderson, CFSA, clinical professor at DePaul University in Oak Park, IL. Anderson has devoted his career to leadership and the advancement in the internal audit profession. He has been a Chief Audit Executive at a major bank, led the internal audit advisory practice at PricewaterhouseCoopers and has been active on many IIA including 11 years as a member of the Professional Issues Committee and also served as a member of The IIA Research Foundation Board of Trustees and recently coauthored its report “Imperatives for Change: The IIA’s Global Internal Audit Survey in Action”. His devotion to the profession has allowed him to develop and enhance internal auditing and has allowed it to move forward.

Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service    

Named after one of the founding members of The IIA, this prestigious award recognizes IIA members who have made extraordinary contributions to the internal audit profession through consistent and exemplary IIA involvement and service. This year’s award honors two recipients: Gerald D. Cox, CIA, CMIIA and Robert N. McDonald, CIA, CGAP.

Cox is a member of The IIA’s U.K. and Ireland Institute. He was elected IIA-UK and Ireland Chairman in1999. He served another term after the newly elected volunteer was unavailable to serve, thus being the only chairman of IIA-U.K. and Ireland to serve two terms. He also has served on the board of directors for global The IIA as international secretary, vice chairman – professional development, senior vice chairman, and 2007-2008 chairman of the global board. Cox has devoted his skills and experience to support the development of the profession at all levels and has worked tirelessly to advocate internal auditing.

McDonald is a part of the Queensland Branch of IIA-Australia and has been an IIA member for 24 years. McDonald has served as The IIA-Australia president for two terms in1994-1996. He has held many positions on The IIA global board of directors including vice chairman – professional practices, senior vice chairman and chairman of the board in 2003-2004. McDonald has been honored by IIA-Australia by having their prestigious award for outstanding service to the internal audit profession named after him. His global initiative has been vast and produced positive results. His contributions and accomplishments to the internal audit profession have merited McDonald this prestigious award.

William S. Smith Awards   

Four Certified Internal Auditors (CIAs) were given awards in memory of William S. Smith, The IIA's first chairman of the Board of Regents and the driving force behind the development of the CIA program. Igor Gouvêa, CIA, IIA-Brazil, received the Gold Medal for earning the year’s highest score on the CIA exam. Henrique de Carvalho, CIA, IIA-Brazil, received the Silver medal for earning this year’s second-highest score on the CIA exam. Adriana Rey, CIA, IIA-Uruguay, received the Bronze medal for earning this year’s third-highest score on the CIA exam. The fourth Smith Award – the Student Highest Achievement Award – went to Elianna Arvelo, CIA, IIA-Philadelphia, the student candidate with the highest CIA exam score during 2010.

John B. Thurston Award for Literary Excellence  

This award is presented to author(s) of the most outstanding article published by Internal Auditor magazine from Jan. through Dec. of the prior year. The winning article – “Document Retention in an E-world," – addresses how internal auditors can help navigate the murky area of e-discovery and the blind spots created by new technologies – reducing the risk of negative judgments should litigation arises. It was written by Julia N. Karcher, Phd, CMA, associate professor of accountancy at University of Louisville; Robert M. Barker, Phd, associate professor of computer information systems at University of Louisville; and Andrew T. Cobb, Phd, CCE, president and CEO of President/CEO AC Forensics Inc.

Ted Keys Award

This award - named in honor of Elmer Theodore Keys Jr., a long-time chairman of The IIA’s Editorial Policy Committee and a regular writer for an Internal Auditor magazine - is presented each year for the most outstanding article submitted to one of the magazine’s departments. The winning article, "Graduate-level Risk Assessment," was authored by Paul Sobel, CIA, vice president and chief audit executive at Georgia-Pacific Corp. in Atlanta, GA. It appeared in the Risk Watch department of the June 2010 issue, and addresses the auditors’ need to think beyond impact and likelihood to assess risks in today's complex business world.

Esther R. Sawyer Research Award   

This award recognizes an internal audit student or graduate from an Internal Auditing Education Partnership (IAEP) school, based on the submission of an original manuscript on a topic related to modern internal auditing. This year’s winner is Rachel L. Bond, a graduate student pursuing a Master of Science (M.S.) degree in accounting at Louisiana State University (LSU). Her submission “Internal Auditing Rotational Programs: Opportunities for Internal Audit to Add Value,” deals with organizations’ “rotational” programs, programs for internal auditors to rotate between business units in an organization and internal auditing. She sought to find the answers on whether it benefits the internal audit activity and how it impacts an internal auditor’s independence and objectivity.

Donald E. Ricketts Chapter Research Award   

This honor recognizes IIA chapters submitting the best research projects during the year. This year’s first place winner is IIA-Austin for “Improving Organizational Governance through Implementing Internal Audit Standard 2010.” The research project includes survey results and case studies to identify and help explain the practices and associated activities used by internal audit operations to promote improvement in their organization’s governance process.

### ​​