Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Institute of Internal Auditors North AmericaBreadcrumb SeparatorNewsBreadcrumb SeparatorPress ReleasesBreadcrumb SeparatorIIA North American Board Elects Leadership

North American Professional Association Elects 2012-2013 National Board
Michael Peppers to serve as chairman

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, Fla. – The 2012-2013 North American Board (NA Board) of The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) was elected by IIA members in the United States, Canada, Caribbean, and Bermuda this week. The IIA North American membership meeting, which took place at the Disney Yacht and Beach Club Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. on Sunday, April 22, also included the election of IIA North American district representatives and advisors.

With a mission to ensure that volunteer and staff activities of The IIA adequately address the needs of the IIA membership in North America, the NA Board will be chaired by J. Michael Peppers, CIA, CRMA — vice president and CAO at UT MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Senior vice chairman is Carolyn D. Saint, CIA, vice president internal audit at 7-Eleven Inc. in Dallas. John Wszelaki, CIA, internal audit director at Virginia Department of Alcohol Beverage Control in Central Virginia, will continue to serve as vice chairman and secretary/finance.

Also continuing in their NA Board roles are New York’s Metropolitan Transportation Authority Auditor General Michael J. Fucilli, CIA, CGAP, CRMA, as vice chairman of member services; Blue Cross/Blue Shield Association Chief Auditor and Compliance Officer J. Michael Joyce, Jr., CIA, CRMA, in Chicago, as vice chairman of professional development; and retired Northern Nevada Deloitte & Touche Partner Patricia K. Miller, CIA, CRMA, as vice chairman of professional guidance and research. Serving as ex-officio NA Board members are Past Chairman Lawrence J. Harrington, CIA, who is VP of internal audit at Raytheon in Boston; and IIA President and CEO Richard F. Chambers, CIA, CCSA, CGAP, CRMA.

Safeway Inc. SVP of Internal Audit John A. Lewis, CIA, CRMA, of Northern California, will continue to serve on the board; along with new members C. Wayne Rose, CIA, who is a Deloitte & Touche partner in Dallas; and Todd A. Horbasenko, CIA, CCSA, who is city manager for Calgary, Canada.

All board members are elected to one- or two-year terms. The NA Board Chairman also serves on The IIA’s Global Board of Directors. Board officers serve a one-year term. Get more information about IIA leadership.