Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Institute of Internal Auditors North AmericaBreadcrumb SeparatorNewsBreadcrumb SeparatorPress ReleasesBreadcrumb SeparatorUpdated Program Offers New Route to Internal Audit Proficiency

​Updated Program Offers New Route to Internal Audit Proficiency

IIA streamlines pathway to Internal Audit Practitioner designation

LAKE MARY, FL (November 2, 2020) – Geared to elevating competency and career opportunities for those aspiring or new to internal auditing, The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) announced today a new, initial pathway to becoming certified.

The refreshed Internal Audit Practitioner program, with a new exam and study questions tailored specifically to the designation, is geared to students, new internal auditors, and professionals who may be transferring into an internal audit role.

Earning the Internal Audit Practitioner designation no longer means taking Part 1 of the three-part exam for the flagship Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) designation. And, unlike previously, six months of internal audit work experience is no longer required – a change specifically intended to support students and new internal auditors, including rotational practitioners. The new program also accommodates challenging economic times with lower application and exam registration fees, and the inclusion of interactive exam practice questions.

The Internal Audit Practitioner designation will remain valid for three years and is considered a pathway to achieving the CIA designation. Those who pass the Internal Audit Practitioner exam can immediately begin working toward the CIA, but must show five years of working experience to be awarded the CIA, unless they have also graduated college.

“As the new Internal Audit Practitioner exam involves thorough coverage of the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing, earning the designation is an ideal way for students and professionals to exhibit a strong foundation in internal auditing and aptitude in the Standards,” said IIA President and CEO Richard F. Chambers, CIA, QIAL, CGAP, CCSA, CRMA. “It also demonstrates a commitment to internal auditing’s high standards and integrity.”

The Internal Audit Practitioner designation is part of an array of IIA certifications and qualifications in internal auditing, led by the CIA, the only globally recognized certification for internal audit professionals. The IIA also offers the Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA) for those with more business experience to provide holistic and effective risk management assurance, and the Qualification in Internal Audit Leadership (QIAL) for internal audit executives.

For more on the Internal Audit Practitioner program, visit The IIA.

Media Contact

John Babinchak

About The Institute of Internal Auditors

The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is the internal audit profession’s most widely recognized advocate, educator, and provider of standards, guidance, and certifications. Established in 1941, The IIA today serves more than 200,000 members in nearly 200 countries and territories. The IIA’s global headquarters are in Lake Mary, Fla. For more information, visit or